Yea, yikes.  This was something that I had had on my to-do list ever since I started challenging myself w/crazy things for this blog.  And, it’s been awhile since I’ve actually tackled anything tricky, so I thought it was about time.  Also, since our CSA was offering (cheap) roosters lately, I figured that the timing couldn’t be better to check this one off the list…so, here goes!

There are a few things I should say starting off- first, I’m using a rooster.  Apparently, they’re tough, since they’re mostly dark meat (as roosters are more active than chickens), so just roasting it would yield tough meat.  I Googled “rooster recipes,” and came up w/a fun one for coq au vin, but more on that later.  Anyway, I opted to chop up the bird bc the pieces would be easier to marinate and then stew.  We’ll see…

But first, the rooster-separating.  Ugh, so gross.  Even though I did it, I was pretty grossed-out…I mean, joints were cracking.  Yikes.  Before trying this, though, I found a YouTube video of a step-by-step process that looked really similar to what I remember during that knife-skills class I took forever ago.  So, I followed it:

zW5BFvCmV7k  (pfft, just click on that nonsense, that’s the YouTube video…I can’t figure out the updated version of wordpress anymore!)

Anyway, here’s my step-by-step:

Wow, roosters are skinny...

The first cut...at THIS point, I was wishing I had a good knife. I was practically sawing just to get through the skin- not good!

Good grief, a leg's come off...

Legs, thighs, and wings. I'll use the legs and thighs, but the wings are headed to the freezer w/the back for future stock-making

Everything's off! Can't believe I did this...I feel so powerful!

All done!

Breasts, legs, and thighs, along w/garlic, shallots, and thyme...just awaiting wine...sorry for the ridiculously-stupid rhyme but I couldn't help myself! 😉

All set to marinate overnight!

So, this is where we are right now- it’s all done marinating, and I was hoping to work on the stew this afternoon while the kids were napping, but sadly, I’m an idiot.  The FIRST ingredient in the recipe is bacon, so what do I forget to buy?  That’s right.  Sometimes I love my memory- other times, like now, I’m thankful that I have a blog to vent to about it! 😉  Anyway, sometime later tonight I’ll get around to making the stew, but that’s a whole ‘nother post.

Be back soon! 🙂

