I’ve been missing lots about New Orleans recently- particularly the food.  It’s just something that happens, I guess, after living there, because food almost seems to be included along with the friends, guests, acquaintances at events, not just as food, but as another  participant; it took on a life of its own, to an almost epic degree.  I’m not kidding!

Anyway, one of my favorite desserts is the Mardi Gras King cake.  We had a small Mardi Gras celebration at our house last year, and I specially ordered one from a great bakery in New Orleans.  But, that gets a bit expensive, considering that you had to factor in overnight delivery and weekend shipping charges!  So, I decided to try making one of my own- I mean, I know what it’s supposed to taste like, I’ll know if I got it horribly wrong.

Luckily, there was nothing wrong with this cake!  It turned out amazingly well!

I used a recipe from Emeril that a friend sent to me (thanks, J!)- here’s the king-cake.html recipe.  Anyway, I had my doubts that I could actually pull it off, mainly due to the ton of ingredients, and the millions of steps, and all the time it was going to take-  I just didn’t want to go through all this trouble, only to have some ridiculous king-cake-fail on my hands.

But, again, after a questionable start (my dough never rose!  I think I killed some of my yeast along the way…), the cake emerged from the oven, all toasted and yummy- and, it managed to rise to normal size, despite it’s earlier failed attempts at doubling in size.  Anyway, I waited until it cooled, added the loads of icing, and tossed on a few sprinkles.  I didn’t have the right Mardi Gras colors- as this was just a test- so, I decorated the cake for Valentine’s Day with red.

It might look a bit strange, but it doesn’t taste that way!  Just wish I had added more of the cream cheese filling- maybe next time!

