Now, I don’t know about you, but when something’s called “impressive,” I’m both intrigued…and immediately ready to judge it!

Last night, I decided to try to recipe for beef stroganoff, something I know I’ve never eaten before.  And, because I’d never had it, I really had no idea what it was, or just what I was attempting to make!  How relieved was I when I discovered that it was nothing more than meat with sauce, poured over noodles.  Yay!

But, it really wasn’t so simple as all that- there was lots of chopping involved because you had to cut up the beef, lots of onions, mushrooms.  And, there was a lot of transferring from pan to bowl, and back again.  No big deal.

But there’s something else that made this recipe kinda fun to work on: it used wine.  This was the first time I cooked with wine!  And…I’ve learned that it’s really no big thing- it’s just another ingredient.  What was I so freaked out about before??  I mean, it says add a certain amount of a certain wine, and well, you add it, and move on.  Ooh, scary!  So, that obstacle removed, I’m starting to feel that this whole cookin’-thing might not be so difficult, so much as it is simply learning to be adventurous and willing to experiment.

Anyway, as a quick recap- the beef stroganoff was pretty yummy.  The pictures don’t really do it justice, mainly because we don’t have the best camera, and…creamy meat over noodles only looks good in person!

See what I mean??  Looks unappetizing.

But, I assure you, it was pretty good! 🙂

